Hang Cleans/Snatches

Training information, scheduling practice sessions, etc.

Hang Cleans/Snatches

Postby miked on Wed Feb 06, 2008 2:53 pm

Question for all you fellas on Hang Cleans and Snatches:

how far down do you begin the pull? Above the knees? Below the knees?

Is there a recommended point to reverse the weight?
miked

Re: Hang Cleans/Snatches

Postby Jeff Storey on Wed Feb 06, 2008 3:23 pm

funny you should mention this.
Just below the knees for me. I can't get triple extension if not.
Yes, I was watching myself in the mirror in the gym this morning...
workout got cut short, I'm going back to hit some form work. :D
I used to think this kitchen was big, until I saw you guys in here...
-AGM's mom
Jeff Storey

Postby scotbybirth on Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:42 am

Although I am not very good at these, I've tried both above and below the knee, and have had some good results from just below the knee. Hope this helps. -CK
"All men with honor are kings, but not all kings have honor... Honor is a man's gift to himself." -Liam Neeson as Rob Roy MacGregor.

-Chris Kenyon
scotbybirth

Postby Beau Fay on Thu Feb 07, 2008 9:11 am

McDickens, I've always done these above the knee-- basically dropping down into the mid-thigh position where an olympic lifter would start the "second pull" and then driving the hips into the bar to reach full extension. The nice thing about these lifts from the high hang position is that it is almost impossible to "miss" the pull by pulling too early, which is very common when doing the olympic lifts from the floor or even the low hang (below knee) position.
I kinda like goldfish... live.
Beau Fay

Postby Drew Kirchen on Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:19 pm

Hey there McD...I agree with ol' Dr. Fay. I've always enjoyed them more from the "high" hang position. I feel like I'm better able to ensure I use good form and work on quick, short, and explosive pulls. Just my 2cents.

Drew
Drew Kirchen

Postby bjketchem on Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:46 pm